A french country valentine.

For my very first post on Bristles and Thread, I wanted to talk a bit about my Valentine’s Day!  I used to buy into the idea that it was a Hallmark holiday but having kids has totally changed that for me.  They love any holidays and I really enjoy having more reasons to love on my little cherubs!

image

In this picture here, my oldest is making some really cute salt dough hearts from Busy Bee Kids Crafts. I added food colouring to the water before mixing in the flour. It was a lot of fun & G had a blast!

Now let’s move on to the more advanced lesson for today…decorating!

If you know me well enough, you would know that I’m frequently painting my furniture.  It’s almost a problem, but I haven’t admitted it fully yet.

I’ve been on the hunt for a hutch to go along with the rest of my painted furniture collection but I’ve had no luck.  Then, the other day I stumbled across this beauty.

image

Ya! I know. Showstopper!  The price was actually cheaper than the ones I had been eyeing, and those still needed to be painted and waxed!  I couldn’t believe it.   My husband agreed and we decided to snatch this piece up quickly, as an early Valentine’s Day present. (He knows me too well.)

The problem with a piece like this is, how do you style it?  There are probably as many ways to style a hutch as there are people.  Here’s my take on it.

First, be consistent.  It’s always a good idea to use the same type of decor as the current style of the hutch.  You can have quite a bit of wiggle room with this rule, but consistency is key.  My new hutch is most definitely a french country style. It has curving at the top and crowned molding.  It also has an intricate floral detailing and is white washed for that shabby chic look. To further drive home the theme, glass knobs were used as pulls. If you can’t use the same theme as your hutch you can use a similar theme.  For example, I don’t have a ton of French country items but I have a lot of items that can appear vintage. The two styles are similar so both styles will work here.

image

Another thing that really helps when working with shelves or hutches is to keep your color scheme cohesive.  A cohesive color scheme is pleasing to the eye and calming to look at.  In my hutch I decided to tie in the blue from my kitchen and living room, since it is an open floor plan.  I also added in brown. Because brown is  the darker color, I made sure to spread it out evenly around the shelves so that it keeps the eye moving.

image

The last thing I like to do when styling any shelves is to vary the height of the items I’m using.  If you take a look at the picture above- all of my items go together.  The colors are balanced. There is some texture. It looks nice. But they are all the same height so this arrangement is a tad boring. Look what happens when I add a tall green vase…

image

It really adds interest to that arrangement and completes the look I was going for.

I absolutely adore this hutch and I think it looks lovely in my space. But what do you think? Do you like the way I’ve arranged my Valentine’s Day present? (Thanks Dave!) How would you do it differently?  Let me know in the comments below! Happy Valentine’s Day!

❤️~ Steph

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A french country valentine.

Leave a Reply

